# SC Board of Medical Examiners Respiratory Care Committee Minutes

Respiratory Care Practitioners Committee Meeting February 23, 2024 10:00 a.m. WebEx Meeting Synergy Business Park, Kingstree Building 110 Centerview Drive Columbia, South Carolina 29210

### Meeting Called to Order

The meeting was held in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act by notice emailed to The State newspaper, Associated Press, WIS-TV and all other requesting persons, organizations, or news media. In addition, notice was posted on the Board's website and on the bulletin boards located at both of the main entrances of the Kingstree Building where the Board office is located. The meeting was held via videoconference and the public who wished to attend could email medboard@llr.sc.gov for login instructions.

#### Committee Members Present:

Laurel Glover, RCP Joseph Ariale, RCP Vinod Jona, MD Michael Fields, MD Sonya Bracone, RCP Marissa Clark, RCP April Sawyer, RCP Jerry Alewine, RCP, Previous Chairman Jerry Livesay, RCP, Previous Vice Chairman

Absent Committee Members: Rahul Argula, M.D. (excused)

S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation Staff Present: Candace Parnell, RCP Program Administrative Assistant Jessica Beise, Board Executive Bob Horner, Advice Counsel

<u>Also Present</u> Tina Behles, Court Reporter, Capital City Reporting, LLC.

## Minutes Friday, February 23, 2024

Meeting called to order at 10:02 a.m. (Quorum present)

Review and adoption of agenda.

Approval of July 14, 2023 minutes. Motion to approve Jerry Alewine, RCP

Approval of 2024 Meeting dates. Motion to approve April Sawyer, RCP. Second Marissa Clark, RCP. Motion carried.

# SC Board of Medical Examiners Respiratory Care Committee Minutes

### **Respiratory Care Practitioners with Temporary Licenses applying for Permanent Licensure**:

Jerry Alewine mentioned the review of the January pending applications, and approved the list of applicants with temporary licenses for permanent licensure (90) to include applicants who have "yes" answers (8) that were addressed individually.

The committee welcomed Laurel Glover, Joseph Ariale, Vinod Jona, Michael Fields, Sonya Bracone, Marissa Clark, and April Sawyer to the committee. A brief discussion on the committee expectations, responsibilities and duties were discussed.

The committee made a motion to appoint Laurel Glover, RCP as new Chairwoman, Sonya Bracone, RCP as new Secretary, and April Sawyer, RCP as new Vice Chairwoman. Motion carried.

Motion to adjourn at 10:45 a.m. Motion carried.

Next meeting: Friday, April 12, 2024, at 10:00a.m. via WebEx.